I almost Shad myself when I watched this!

13 Sep

In the early 90s I remember literally running home from school so that I could get back in time to watch The Fresh Prince of Bel Air. I used to hate missing the opening credits because I liked to stand in my parents living room and rap along with Jazzy and Will (“In West Philadelphia born and raised…”). Needless to say, I had a taste of sweet nostalgia when I watched the new music video from Canadian rapper, Shad. The vid is for his latest single, “The Old Prince Still Lives at Home”, and it’s a loving send-up of the Fresh Prince opening credit sequence.

Born in Kenya, of Rwandan parents, Shad grew up in London, Ontario. I’d never heard of the guy until now – and he’s already two albums in. His flow sounds a little like Common – but such comparisons don’t do his originality justice. I’m hoping to hear a lot more from this guy.

Just for a smile, here’s the Will Smith original:

Leave a Reply

